Crescent Past Pupils Annual Dinner 2022

Our Annual Dinner was held on Saturday 08 October 2022 in the Shannon Suite at the Strand Hotel.  This was the first time that the dinner was held since 2019 and our level of anticipation was matched by the 151 invited guests, past pupils and friends who attended on the night.  The service, meal and facilities provided by the Strand Hotel banqueting staff were excellent and continued the high standard that the hotel is renowned for.

The dinner provided an excellent opportunity to renew old acquaintances and to make new ones.  We were honoured to induct Dermot Whelan onto our roll of honour and to make a suitable presentation to him on the night.  Other invited guests included the representatives of our sister unions, the Belvedere Union (representing the Union President Mr Cian O’Carroll), Mungret College Past Pupils Union (immediate Past President Mr Justice Tom O’Donnell), the Clongowes Union (President elect Mr Peter O’Meara),  President of the Jesuit Alumnae Ireland (Mr John Tracey), President of Old Crescent RFC  (Mr Joe McNamara), the Chair of the Parents Council (Mr Leo Colgan) and the Principal of Crescent College Comprehensive SJ (Mr Diarmuid Mullins).  Also in attendance on the night were two previous Roll of Honour inductees, Mr Justice Kevin O’Higgins and Mr Bill Whelan.  Additionally, the classes of 1960 and 1962 from the Sacred Heart College held their reunions at the dinner.

Our two immediate Past Presidents, Ms Geraldine Heslin Deery 2020 and Mr Tommy Kelly 2021, addressed the attendees noting that their achievements during the difficult covid restrictions were the focus on continuity and ensuring our Union was best prepared to meet the challenges we would face once the restrictions were lifted.  Of note during both addresses were the dedication of our committee members in progressing Roll of Honour inductees, hosting the 2021 golf outing and supporting the College.  The current President, Kevin Cotter, reviewed the committee work undertaken to date in 2022 and outlined remaining events for 2022.

Our Roll of Honour recipient, renowned international and national award winning broadcaster, author, wellness coach and comedian, Mr Dermot Whelan was introduced as a native Limerickman, growing up in Ballyclough.  He attended Crescent College Comprehensive SJ from 1985 to his graduation with his class Castillo in 1991.  He has received over 30 international and national awards the latest being the best music and entertainment presenter of the year at the IMRO awards the night before the dinner.  In his address to the attendees, Dermot highlighted how formative his time in Crescent was and how this unique experience shaped his development.  He included many humorous anecdotes on his time in Crescent including his interactions with the school’s authority, his perspective on sports and his regard for teachers.

In his address the Principal Diarmuid Mullins outlined the current refurbishment programme underway in the College and acknowledged the support of the Past Pupils Union across many activities.

We are indebted to our sponsors for their generous donation of prizes for our raffle which raised €1550.  We wish to acknowledge the generosity of Adare Golf Club County Limerick, Adare Manor Hotel County Limerick, Bobby Byrnes Gastropub Limerick, Brown Thomas Limerick, Centra Caherconlish County Limerick, Crescent Shopping Centre Dooradoyle Limerick, Kinsale Golf Club County Cork, the Savoy Hotel Limerick, the Strand Hotel Limerick, the Wine Buff Limerick and the Hotel Woodstock Ennis, County Clare.

We have already booked the 2023 annual dinner in the strand hotel with the confirmed date of 11 November 2023.  Further details will be available closer to the date on our website.