CCPPU Golf Outing Results 2022

The Ignatian Challenge Cup, held in Limerick Golf Club, had a fantastic turnout this year of 67 players which included 6 ladies.  We were thrilled to see so many old and new faces at the event and honoured to have 7 of our 17 sponsors play on the day and delighted that Limerick Golf Club’s Lady Captain Liz Griffin and its Chairperson of the Board of Management Vincent Jennings were also able to play.

The weather was kind and the course in Limerick Golf Club was in fantastic condition, with credit given to the ground staff led by Course Manager Kieran Donoghue.  The fairways rewarded accurate shooting and the greens read true to the cup.  We wish to acknowledge the generosity of the officers and members of Limerick Golf Club in extending the facilities of their course and clubhouse to us for our annual competition.

The winner of the cup was Patrick Cumiskey (46 points) who had a fantastic score with an excellent round of golf.  Congratulations Patrick and we look forward to your defence of your title at next year’s challenge.


The ladies’ event was won by Sheila O’Malley with an outstanding score of 42 points. Our first lady winner of the Ignatian Challenge Cup is imminent with great scoring by the ladies cohort.

We would like to thank all those who made the event possible.

  • Limerick Golf Club, its officers and members, course management staff, and the clubhouse staff and catering staff.
  • Our sponsors who generously donated prizes and funds – without you this event would not be possible
  • Our own Golf Committee and members of the Past Pupils Union who manned the desks on the day (Dermot Maher, Jeannie O’Malley, Peter Doyle, Stephen O’Dowd, Eva Clark, Tommy Kelly, Chris MacNamara, Rachel Harnett, Kevin Cotter).
  • Additional thanks to Ian Wallace who helped with the golf starter role.

Name                                                                        Position / Prize

Patrick Cumiskey (46 pts)                                          1st Place – Ignatian Challenge Cup Winner 2022

Shelia O’Malley (42 pts)                                             1st Place (Ladies)

Jennifer MacNamara (36 pts)                                   2nd Place (Ladies)

Fiona Hennessy (34 pts)                                            3rd Place (Ladies)

Louise Wilkinson                                                         Longest Drive (Ladies)

Bobby Roche (42 pts)                                                  2nd Place (Mens)

Kevin Cotter (40 pts)                                                  3rd Place (Mens)

Kieran Daly (38 pts)                                                    4th Place (Mens)

Conor Kilroy                                                                 Nearest the 14th Pin (Mens)

Richard Keays                                                              Longest Drive (Mens)

Our Sponsors

Conway Engineering Jennifer MacNamara
& Stephen Conway
MacMahons Builders Providers John MacNamara
Maurice Power Solicitors Brendan Gill
Pure Electrical Ltd Brian Clancy
Pat Tiernan Motors Jeannie O’Malley
Boland and Partners Louise Boland
DMC Atlantic Glen Copley
Roches Feeds Bobby Roche
Dennehy O’Gorman & Company Accountants Wilton Dennehy
Tony Clarke School Books and Stationery Eva Clarke
The Wine Buff Mike O’Mara
The Unicorn Bryan Greene
Mortgage123 Darragh O’Sullivan 
John Horgan John Horgan
Quinn Architects Cathal Quinn
WJ Souths Libby Hickie
Eireagle David Conway

We are already looking forward already to the next outing in 2023.

Photos from the day